House Mandates Pres. Weah to Source More Loan for Roads Construction To Lofa, ETC.


Over Sixty lawmakers have mandated the executive inclusive of President Weah to secure more loans for the construction of critical corridors in the country.

The resolution came barely a day after the Senate ratified and concurred with the lower house on the two giant financing loan agreement for road construction in Liberia.

Eton PLT Finance, Ltd, Loan Agreement and EBOMAF SA of Burkina Faso which worth US$536.4 million and US$420,810,000 were both passed by the House of Legislature and rectify by the Senate respectively.

The mandate came through a resolution signed by the lawmakers which were presented in a communication to speaker Bhofal Chambers in Tuesday’s session on the Capitol Hill.

The resolution indicated Liberia’s fight towards achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 2030 agenda of which poverty eradication is the overarching of this new agenda, noting the promotion of economic, social and environmental development.

Rep. Joseph Momo Matthews Jr of Lofa County district #3, Rep. Thomas Fallah, Montserrado County district #5, Rep. Francis Saidy Dopoh, Rivergee district #3 and Rep. Beyan Howard of Lofa Count District #5 sponsored the resolution respectively.

As part of the resolution, the lawmakers believe that Liberia’s counties’ capitals need to be connected by roads, as such the sourcing of more loans by the president is cardinal.

“Honorable Speaker, this joint resolution is submitted to this noble body predicated upon the unanimous resolution of the people to petition the government of Liberia through us as their direct representatives , we are requesting the timely endorsement of this joint resolution in the interest of our people”, a communication to the speaker on the resolution indicated.

The lawmakers, through their resolution of more loans, will ensure the pavement of roads through fifteen counties corridors of the country.

“Now, therefore, we the members of the honorable House of Representatives and Senate do hereby authorize the President of the Republic of Liberia to employ all legal and legitimate means in securing loan financing agreements for the construction of paved roads leading to the fifteen counties of Liberia, prioritizing the below-listed corridors” the resolution pointed out.

The corridors include Sawmill (Gbarpolu County) to Gbarma-Kongba-Vahu-Menekorma, Voinjoima, Kolahun, and Foya, Lofa County; Bopolu to Belle Yallah, Gbarma-Mano River (Grand Capemount County).

Others are Zwedru (G.Gedeh) to Fish Town (Rivergee County), Montserado Soul Clinic, Johnsoville, Mount Barclay, Tyler Island 72nd Connection, Todee-Bomi corridor, Nickley’s town-Rehab, Pipeline to Whiteplains corridor. Bong to Gbarpolu corridor, Bong to Bassa corridor and Fornutolee route.

The resolution also considered the Margibi-Bassa corridor, Virginia, Arthington and mount coffee corridor, Morton corner to suehn Mecca corridor, Wee Statutory district (Grand Bassa) to Kokorya (Bong County) corridor; Saclepea to Butuo (Nimba County), Palala to Saclepea (Bong & Nimba Counties) as well as the RIA to Charlesville corridor.

Leave a Reply