President Weah To Dedicate Capitol Building Annexes Today

County News

President George Manneh Weah will today lead an array of top government officials and diplomats in the edifice of the Capitol Building to dedicate its newly constructed annexes.

The Capitol Building is the official seat of the Liberian Legislature.
The construction of the Capitol’s Building two annexes started in October 2016 and was funded by the People’s Republic of China (PRC).

The completion of the two new buildings will provide the opportunity to Members of the House of Representatives and the Liberian Senate, especially those who are members of Statutory Committees to have new self-contained offices (office space, waiting room and bathroom), and will be the first of its kind since the erection of the Capitol Building, 62 years ago.

The two annexes were constructed by the Chinese firm Jiangsu Jiangsu Construction Company, while another Chinese company, the China International Engineering Design and Consult Company Limited, supervised the engineering component.
The project which is valued at US$23 million, includes two annexes comprising 300 rooms, two separate chambers as well as a generator house.

It may be recalled, former Vice President Joseph N. Boakai led an array of officials on tour of the construction followed by former House Speaker J. Emmanuel Nuquay, former Senate Pro Tempore Armah Z. Jallah, among other lawmakers.

In separate remarks, the former government officials praised the level of cordiality between the Legislature and the Executive as well as China’s generous aid to Liberia.

“We must say the construction of the two annexes and the renovation works are because of the cordial relationship between the Executive and the Legislative branches of government,” said the former Vice President, while also thanking China for her continuous support to Liberia.

The present Capitol Building was dedicated in 1956 under the leadership of the late President William V. S. Tubman, with Vice President William R. Tolbert as President of the Senate; Senate Pro Tempore Edwin Morgan, and Speaker of the House, Richard Henries.

Leave a Reply