Lone Star Vs Leopards – All Set!


The stage is now set for Sunday’s much-anticipated clash between the Liberian National Football Team, the Lone Star and the visiting D.R. Congo Leopards in qualifying for a place at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Group G match will take place at the Samuel Keyon Doe Sports Complex in Paynesville.

It will be the first fixture between the two nations after 20 years.
DR Congo, last visit in Paynesville in 1997 ended in a 2-0 home win for the Lone Star.

Despite the long years, Liberian Football fans still have the bad memory from the country’s elimination in the group stage of the 1996 Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa by the Leopards of Congo.

In that match, Liberia Lone Star could advance to the quarter-final with a 1-0 or 2-1 defeat to D.R. Congo, but the Congolese won that game 2-0 to send Liberia parking out of the tournament.
Ahead of this weekend’s clash, the home team has been working hard to ensure they can take all three points to get their hope of qualifying to Cameroon 2019 back on course.

The Lone Star has had a series of practice sessions with some of the top clubs in the country as they prepared for the Leopards who have been in the country more than five days.

New Lone Star Coach, Thomas Kojo invited 26 local players and 13 oversea players to train for the match.Eleven of the thirteen over-sea players called up for the game show up.

Foreign-based players here for the match include Boison Wynney Dr Souza (Spain), Joel Johnson (USA), Adolphus Marshall (Malta), Murphy Dorley (Czech Republic), Sylvanus Nimely (Russia), Sam Johnson (Norway), Seku Conneh (Korea Republic), Kpah Sherman (Malaysia), William Jebor (Morocco), Anthony Laffor (South Africa), and Tonia Tisdell (Turkey).

For Sunday’s duel which is a Cameroon 2019 qualifier, the Lone Star will rely heavily on the services of lethal finishers William Jebor and Sam Johnson with the hardworking Anthony Laffor and the simple passing Murvee Oscar Dolley providing the ammunition to them.

The visitors who are second in Group G, are parading key players as well.
There is huge momentum amongst Liberian football fans for the match which will be the first qualifier under new Chief Patron of Liberia, President George Weah.

Liberia squad:
Goalkeepers: Boison Wynney de Souza of (Real Mallorca B, Spain), Tommy Songo and Ashley Williams of (LISCR FC, Liberia)

Defenders: Teah Dennis and Jeremy Saygbe of (Barrack Young Controllers Liberia); Alvin Maccornel and Aloysius Simujla of (LPRC Oilers, Liberia), Kemoh Kamara (LISCR FC, Liberia), Adolphus Marshall Nagbe of (Gudja United FC, Malta), Joel Johnson Alajarin (Charlotte Independence, America)

Midfielders: Sekou Sheriff, Saah Nyumah and Allen Njie (LISCR FC, Liberia) Ebenezer Solo of (LPRC Oilers, Liberia), Oscar Murphy Dorley (FC Slovan Liberec, Czech Republic), Sylvanus Nimely (Spartak Moscow II, Russia) Sam Johnson (Valerenga Oslo, Norway)

Strikers: Anthony Laffor of (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), William Jebor (Wydad Casablanca, Morocco), Seku Conneh (Ansan Greener, South Korea) Kpah Sherman (MISC MIFA, Malaysia).

DR Congo squad:
Goalkeepers: Joël Kiassumbua (Servette, Switzerland), Anthony Mossi Ngawi (Chiasso FC, Switzerland), Nathan Mabruki (DC Motema Pemba, DR Congo)

Defenders: Issama Mpeko Djos (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Djuma Shabani Wadol, Glody Ngonda Muzinga, Yannick Bangala Litombo (AS Vital Club, DR Congo respectively), Wilfred Abro Moke (Konyaspor, Turkey), Christian Nekadio Luyindama (Standard Liege, Belgium) and Bobo Ungenda Muselenge (CD Primeiro de Agosto, Angola)

Midfielders: Jacques Maghoma (Birmingham City, England), Nelson Munganga (AS Vita Club, DR Congo), Chikito Lema Mabidi (Raja Casablanca, Morocco), Paul-Jose Mpoku (Standard Liege, Belgium), Fabrice Ngoma Luamba (AS Vita Club, DR Congo) Lema Mabidi Chikito (Raja Casablanca, Morocco)

Strikers: Firmin Ndombe Mubele (FC Toulouse, France), Junior Kabananga Kalonji (FC Astana, Kazakhstan), Elia Lina Meschack (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Jonathan Bolingi (Royal Antwerp, Belgium), Benik Afobe (Stoke City, England), Britt Assombalonga (Middlebrough, England) and Chadrac Akolo (VfB Stuttgart, Germany)

Leave a Reply