‘Bogus Universities’ Warned -As NCHE Releases List of Accredited Higher Institutions


The National Commission on Higher Education (NCHE) has warned students of enrolling into fake or impersonating institutions, which are operating illegally in Liberia.

NCHE is an autonomous agency of the Government of Liberia charged with the responsibility of regulating, evaluating, accrediting, and establishing institutions of higher learning in the country.

The Commission caveat comes in the wake of the proliferation of ‘mushrooms’ Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs) or tertiary institutions in the country.

Making the disclosure recently, NCHE Deputy Director for Quality Assurance, Rev. J. Andrew Lablah, said 10 of the 38 higher institutions of learning in the country are government or public run institutions while 19 are faith-based and nine are privately owned.

According to the NCHE Deputy Director, since 2017 there has been no new accreditation made so far by the institution and therefore warned higher educational institutions which are operating illegally in the country to shut down and seek a permit from NCHE, before registering students to avoid humiliation.

Rev. Larblah noted that the higher educational institutions of Liberia play a pivotal role in the process of developing its economy and support to the government’s Pro-Poor Agenda.

He said the output and impact of the Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs), both individually and collectively, is central to attaining national and regional economic growth, and to build a fair and compassionate society.

“We need to ensure that our institutions offer programs that are sound, relevant and of quality,” he added.

The 10 public higher education institutions in the country include: University of Liberia, William V.S. Tubman University; Bong County Technical College and Harbel College.
Others are Bomi County Community College; Grand Bassa Community College; Nimba County Community College; Lofa County Community College; Grand Gedeh County Community; And Sinoe County Community College.

The Commission named the Faith-based Higher Education institutions as Cuttington University; Stella Maris Polytechnic; United Methodist University, And A.M.E. University.
Others include: A.M.E. Zion University College; Liberia Baptist Theological Seminary; African Bible College University; Liberia Assemblies of God Bible College; Monrovia Bible College, And the Adventist University of West Africa.
The rest are Trinity Bible College; Jake Memorial Baptist College; Christian Theological Seminary; Baptist College of Missionary Physician Assistants; Wesleyan College of Liberia; Vision International Christian College Of Liberia; Liberia International Christian College; Free Pentecostal College; and Salvation Army Technical Institute.

The nine private Higher Education Institutions on the list are: Starz College Of Technology; Bluecrest University College; Bushrod Institute Of Technology; Smythe Institute Of Management & Technology; And St. Clements University College.
The Leigh-Sherman Community College; Lincoln College of Professional Studies; Liberia Dujar Technical College and Licosses complete the list.

Meanwhile, NCHE has issued a 40-day’s ultimatum to defaulted HEIs which have not paid their annual service fee of US$500 to the Liberia Revenue Authority LRA).

Unconfirmed sources have it that, the University of Liberia (UL) and Cuttington University are topping the list of higher educational institutions in the country that are very delinquent in paying their annual service fee to the Government of Liberia.

Recently, six HEIs and 14 private health educational institutions’ (nurse, nurse aid institutions) were shut down by NCHE for operating illegally in the country.

Leave a Reply