BYC Wins LFA 2018 Championship


Barrack Young Controllers (BYC) has won the Liberia Football Association 2018 Championship.

BYC did so with a 4-3 victory over rejuvenated LPRC Oilers at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium in Central Monrovia.

The “Go Blue Boys” took the lead under just three minutes before falling behind 2-1 from a resurgent LPRC Oilers.

BYC, however, fought back harder in the dying minutes of the second half to force the match to penalties after ending the game at 2-2.
The win means, BYC are the new Champions of Liberian Football and will have another opportunity to represent Liberia at the next edition of the Caf Champions League.

The 2018 LFA league was held under a special format with the ten clubs that agreed to play in the competition paired in two groups of five, with BYC and LPRC Oilers winning their respective groups before facing each other in the final.

The game played at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium attracted a large number of football fans.

The LFA presented the league trophy and individual awards right at the end of the game.

1. The David Momo Best (1.) Goalkeeper Award: Saylee Swen of LPRC OILERS
2. The Washington Blay Best Defender Award: Aloysius Slamuja of LPRC OILERS
3. Highest Scorer Award: Trokon Myers – BYC 9 goals
4. The George Weah MVP Award: Kelvin Potis- BYC

Leave a Reply