Oilers Crowned Champions For The First Time In 14-Years


Sensational LPRC Oilers were on Wednesday decorated and crowned champions of the Liberia Football Association 2019 First Division League.

The Oilers finished the season without defeat in the Championship chase as they were held to a 0-0 draw by Watanga FC at the ATS in central Monrovia.

The game between two of the best playing teams in the country drew lots of interest as Watanga FC attempted to end Oilers unbeaten run and help themselves to the 3rd spot on the league table.

But it ended goalless at the disappointment of Oilers fans who wanted their side to end the season with a victory over indomitable Watanga FC.

Also, some fans of the Oilers Lead goal-getter, Terry Sackor were disappointed that the player could not find the net in that match as the race for the highest goal scorer ran up to the final day of the season.

He ended with 14 goals, three behind the top two front runners for the Golden Shoes, Chris Jackson and Varney Dukuly both level on 17 goals.

Putting that behind them, however, Oilers players and supporters celebrated widely after the final whistle and the handing over of the giant size trophy to Captain Solomon Wesseh.

The Oilers won the League with 54 points in 22 matches.
The last time the Oilers were decorated with championship medals and trophy was back in 2005.

Leave a Reply